Aussie Icons Honoured

Three special honours were awarded at this year’s National Road Transport Hall of Fame Reunion in Alice Springs. Three ‘Icon of the Industry’ awards were presented at the recent Shell Rimula Wall of Fame induction ceremony. The Icon of the Industry celebrates Australians who have given a lifetime of service and contribution to the Australian road transport industry.



Approximately 8,000 people from the trucking community made the annual pilgrimage to the event, celebrating it 20th Reunion at the National Road Transport Museum in Alice Springs. Over the course of the weekend the Hall of Fame celebrated the milestone year as well as the achievements of this year’s inductees and award winners.



The 2015 Icon of the Industry recipients, Owen Driscoll, Max Winkless and Ed Cameron, were inducted into the Shell Rimula Wall of Fame alongside a record number of almost 300 individuals from across the nation.



Edwin (Ed) Cameron is a pioneer of the modern generation of road transport. In 1961, after years of frustration with the unsuitability of the British and European trucks he was driving, Ed was appointed the first Australian importer of Kenworth trucks. In less than a decade, Ed imported and sold more than 100 prime-movers before the USA parent company acquired his business in the late 1960s.


Max Winkless

Max Winkless



In 1948, Max Winkless was offered a share in the Antill Ranger business, NSW importer of Mack trucks, making him an owner-operator at the age of 20. The following years saw Max become the Director and General Manager of Antill Ranger before setting up Swedish Motors in 1966, to import specially designed Volvo prototypes into Australia. Eventually Max had to choose between Mack and Volvo and in the end it was Volvo that came out on top.


Owen Driscoll

Owen Driscoll



National Transport Insurance (NTI) Industry Relations Manager, Owen Driscoll, has dedicated his life to the safety of truck drivers and improving the standards of safety in the road transport industry. Over the years, Owen has continuously championed research into road transport accidents, calling on government bodies and industry leaders to commit to improving road safety across Australia.



“We are excited to celebrate the achievements of Owen, Max and Ed, hear their stories from across a lifetime of road transport involvement, and reward their service with the Icon of the Industry award,” said Max Lane, Marketing Manager of Shell Lubricants, Viva Energy Australia, who have partnered with the National Road Transport Hall of Fame since its inception in 2000.


Liz Martin

Liz Martin



The National Road Transport Hall of Fame has, also this year, celebrated its CEO, Liz Martin, presenting her with the inaugural Special Recognition Award for her outstanding contribution to the road transport community.



Over past three decades, Liz has been an instrumental force in the road transport industry. She was part of the creation of the Road Transport Historical Society in 1992, and went on to officially open the National Road Transport Hall of Fame in 1995.



“All my work at the National Road Transport Hall of Fame has been for the hard working road transport community that aren’t usually recognised and the Shell Rimula Wall of Fame is about giving each individual their deserved recognition,” said Liz. “I’m honoured to be up on the Wall with them.



“It’s an extremely emotional ceremony as we acknowledge each driver for the trials and tribulations they’ve faced on the roads, sharing their stories with friends and peers and wholeheartedly thanking them for their contributions. The reunion is a wonderful opportunity for drivers from all over Australia to come together and celebrate lifetime dedication to the Australian trucking industry.”

Taking Drugs Perth Renovation Opens

Author: Tim Giles

Share This Post On