Award Nominations

Nominations are open for a number of industry awards. The Australian Trucking Association has announced it is seeking names to go forward for its 2016 National Trucking Industry Awards. NSW’s Livestock and Bulk Carriers Association is also looking for nominations for its Young Driver of the Year for 2016.


The Trucking Industry Awards are presented to acknowledge the achievements of individuals and organisations in all fields of endeavour throughout the road freight transport industry. The gongs to be awarded include: Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry, National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year; and National Professional Driver of the Year. Nominations must be received by March 21 2016.




“As an industry, we have a great number of dedicated, passionate people who go the extra mile to make sure Australia’s goods are moved in a safe, professional manner,” said Chris Melham, ATA CEO. “But despite working long hours and overcoming great challenges, they often don’t put themselves forward for reward or recognition.


“The National Trucking Industry Awards are our opportunity to acknowledge the hard work going on behind the scenes in the trucking industry, and give our quiet heroes the credit they deserve. There are also great prizes, with an international travel package and cash prizes to be won.


“If you know someone who deserves to be acknowledged for their efforts on behalf of the industry, I urge you to take the time to nominate them at the website.


The awards will be presented on June 25 on the Gold Coast at a gala dinner sponsored by the ATA’s Foundation Sponsors: BP Australia, National Transport Insurance and Volvo Group Australia. The dinner is part of Trucking Australia 2016. Two more awards, the Don Watson Memorial Award and the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award will also be presented on the night.


To make a nomination, go to the awards website. For more information about Trucking Australia 2016 or to purchase a ticket for the awards night, go to the ATA Website.


Last Year’s Nominees for LBCA Young Driver of the Year


Livestock and Bulk Carriers Association President, Jock Carter, has announced the LBCA is seeking nominations for Young Driver of the Year for 2016. Nominations are open until 22 January 2016. The award will be presented at the annual Livestock and Bulk Carriers Conference at Mount Panorama, Bathurst on March 4-5 2016.


The award winner must demonstrate a best practice approach to driving and safety. The award includes a $5,000 trip to the USA.


“The award winner will be a role model for the rural transport industry and will help to promote rural transport as a viable, long-term career choice for young people,” said Carter. “Without rural transporters, Australia’s farm produce couldn’t get from the farm to the table. The job of driving trucks is a lot more challenging than people realise. With an ageing workforce, the industry needs to make steps to encourage younger drivers to take up a worthwhile profession”.


“The young driver award recognises our top young drivers and showcases their commitment to safety and best practice.  It’s something we should all strive to achieve and be proud of.”


Nomination forms and further information are available from the LBCA secretariat. Tel: 02 6230 6290 or email: