National Trucking Industry Awards

National Trucking Industry Awards

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) has announced the 2017 winners of the National Trucking Industry Awards at the Trucking Australia conference in Darwin. The awards were presented at the ATA Foundation Sponsors Gala Dinner at the Darwin Convention Centre.


“I would like to extend my congratulations to all the winners. These awards recognise individuals and businesses that go above and beyond in their service to the trucking industry,” said Ben Maguire, ATA CEO.


The winners are:


Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry, sponsored by BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Trucks went to Roger Pickering, Pickering Transport Group (Swan Hill, VIC).


Roger grew up in Swan Hill and district until he moved to Melbourne at age 15 and began his working life. After a few months of experience in the transport industry, his father got him to join the family business.


Currently based in Mildura, Roger’s business provides employment for hundreds of regional people. He sits in an overall management role, closely involved with the buzz, pressure and excitement of operations, matching customers’ and drivers’ expectations and capabilities with the movement of freight.


National Trucking Industry Awards
National Professional Driver of the Year went to Danial McFee, Gilbert’s Transport Services.

National Professional Driver of the Year, sponsored by BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Trucks, went to Danial McFee, Gilbert’s Transport Services Pty Ltd (Cavan, SA).


Danial has worked with Gilbert’s Transport for 31 years. The son of a truck driver, Danial started as a local driver based at the company’s depot at Strathalbyn in Adelaide Hills, doing abattoir related work, progressing to interstate work, driving to Brisbane and Sydney and driving double road trains to Perth.


In 1996, Danial started doing the regular triple road train run from Adelaide to Darwin and Tennant Creek. He averaged 288,000km per year and racked up six million kilometres on that route alone. Doing the run week in and week out incident-free, is proof of his high level of skill, care and expertise and his ability to deal with the challenges of operating a triple road train on a road with little margin for error.


Trucking Industry Woman of the Year

Award, sponsored by Cummins South Pacific, went to Tracie Dickenson, Daryl Dickenson Transport (Archerfield, QLD).


Tracie’s father was a long-haul owner-driver, so her association with road transport began early in her life. In 1990, she met Daryl, an interstate driver, and started travelling with him full-time, where she learnt about working interstate transport.


In 2001, operating from home, Tracie and Daryl formed Daryl Dickenson Transport with one truck and one full-time employee. In 2003, Daryl Dickenson Transport set up operation from its first depot in Wacol. Today the company has grown to a fleet of 40 trucks and more than 60 employees with storage facilities in Yatala.


National Training Excellence Award, sponsored by DECA, went to De Bruyn’s Transport (Burnie, TAS).


De Bruyn’s Transport in Tasmania is operated by brothers John and Dirk, together with their cousin John. Cornelius de Bruyn, the great uncle of the present owners, established the company in 1965. It is TruckSafe, NHVAS Mass Management and Basic Fatigue Management accredited.


De Bruyn’s Transport employs 200 people across five depots and utilises some 120 heavy vehicles, 200 trailers, two fish farm support vessels as well as numerous forklifts and other specialised pieces of equipment.


National Trucking Industry Awards
The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award went to Collins Adelaide Transport.

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award, sponsored by AEI Transport, went to Collins Adelaide Transport (Adelaide, SA).


Collins Adelaide is a wholly family owned company that commenced operations in 1965, with John Collins operating one tray truck between Adelaide and Melbourne.


The company has now expanded to more than 300 employees across South Australia, New South Wales and Victoria. The company maintains the motto of ‘a family tradition of customer service’ and has proudly been a member of TruckSafe since 1997.


Don Watson Memorial Award went to Ray Ablett, Abletts Transport (Queanbeyan, NSW).


Ray was born in the foothills of the Great Dividing Range in Victoria where he watched his dad start his trucking business. Before long, he was driving for his father. He started carrying timber and general goods in regional Victoria and this continued till he purchased his own truck in the late 1970’s. Sometime later, he and his dad combined their businesses to form what is today a national company, Abletts Transport.


Ray is a hard-working man, dedicated to his business and the trucking industry as a whole. Whenever there is an industry event or community event that needs help or support, Ray and his team are there.