NatRoad taking nominations for Awards

2011 Professional Driver of the Year winner, Bill Watson (left) and finalist Lyle Bish.

NatRoad is now accepting nominations for the 2012 NatRoad Awards. Winners will be announced on August 3 at the National Transport Insurance (NTI) luncheon during the NatRoad Conference 2012, to be held at Sanctuary Cove on the Gold Coast.

Whilst it takes the combined efforts of more than 150,000 hard-working Australians to meet the nation’s road freight task, there are exceptional individuals whose commitment to the industry warrants special recognition. With the generous support of National Transport Insurance, the annual NatRoad Awards are designed to recognise those individuals. 

“We’re proud to have been involved with the NatRoad Awards for many years now,” said NTI’s Owen Driscoll. “The awards provide us with an opportunity to give back to the industry that gives so much.”

Owen will join NatRoad president, Geoff Crouch, Australian Trucking Association chief executive, Stuart St Clair and Phyllis Jones of NJ and NP Jones Transport, on the judging panel.   

According to Geoff Crouch, “The NatRoad Awards present a fantastic opportunity to reward those deserving individuals who form the backbone of the industry which quite literally, carries the nation. The award categories and selection criteria ensure that whether you’re part of a small ‘Mum and Dad’ trucking company or a large fleet operation, you can be nominated and potentially win.”

Awards will be presented in the following categories:

? Professional Driver of the Year
? Transport Youth
? Excellence in Operational Support (one to seven trucks)
? Excellence in Operational Support (eight or more trucks)

In addition, the Ted Pickering Memorial Award for outstanding involvement in the road transport industry will be presented to an individual whose long-term commitment and contribution, personal and professional achievements and community spirit have improved the industry.

“NatRoad is proud to honour Ted Pickering’s memory through this award,” Geoff Crouch added. “Ted founded and developed Pickering Transport Group into one of Australia’s premier carriers.  He was a former president of our association and a true icon of the Australian road transport industry.”

Nominations close at midnight on Sunday, July 1. Nomination forms can be obtained via the NatRoad website or by calling the NatRoad office on 02 6295 3000.