New National Industry Body

At the organisation’s 45th Annual General Meeting, members of the Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Queensland (CVIAQ) have voted to form a new national industry body. The move will see the current CVIAQ transition to a national association, to be called Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA).


The change to the association’s constitution required 75 per cent support at the AGM to pass the special resolutions. In addition, 69 proxy votes in support of forming the new national association were received prior to the 5 pm Monday deadline.




Bob Martin of Jost Australia was re-appointed as President at the meeting. Also re-appointed for another term as Vice-President was Chris Musch of Isuzu Australia. Other returning directors include Anthony Dore (Varley Group), John Edwards (Hino) and Nathan Usher (Cummins South Pacific). Ian Taylor of Scania Australia also sought re-election and was returned for another term.


Three new directors from outside of Queensland were elected to the board. Mario Colosimo of MaxiTrans, Peter Langworthy from Dana Australia and Nick Stavrakis of SAF Holland, all based in Melbourne, were elected for the first time.


Past Presidents of the CVIAQ, Ray Smithers of Volvo and Rob Brown from the Brown and Hurley Group were both recognised with life memberships for their long service.


The Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Queensland was formed in 1968 to operate the Brisbane Truck Show and was incorporated as a company in 1970 to provide representation and a broad range of services to the heavy vehicle industry in Queensland. The latest announcement from the association says the HVIA will now offer those services to all industry members across the country.


The national office and CEO, Brett Wright, will continue to be located in Brisbane. In addition to this Brisbane office, the HVIA plans to establish regional offices in Melbourne and Perth. New staff to expand existing services, including a National Manager of Policy and Government Relations, a National Manager of VET and Careers, a Manager of Technical and Regulatory Advice and a Manager of Membership and Communications are expected to be appointed.