New NatRoad President

At the recent NatRoad Conference in Brisbane a new President was unveiled, replacing Jeff Crouch, who has stepped down after four years in the role. The association announced the elevation of Allan Thornley to the role of President on the last night of the conference in the Brisbane Convention Centre.





“It’s a great honour to be elected as President of the National Road Transport Association by the National Council,” said Allan at the Gala Dinner. “I am proud and humbled to have their support as President. I look forward to working with the Council, our Members and Corporate Partners to deliver positive benefits to our Members in particular, and the Industry as a whole.



“The National Council is committed to ensuring our members have all the available support and tools to assist their business and look forward to the continued member growth of the Association. The Secretariat is currently working on an exciting calendar of member information evenings which will give members the opportunity to hear the latest in Industrial Relations updates, Policy changes and to have your say on issues within your region.”



NatRoad is, currently in search of a new CEO after the surprise departure of Warwick Ragg in recent weeks. A new appointee is expected in the coming month, as part of an all new team at the helm of NatRoad.



The NatRoad Conference also saw the announcement of a number of awards. These included the naming of Nola Bransgrove as the recipient of the Ted Pickering Memorial Award for Outstanding Involvement in the Road Transport Industry, for her long service to reform in the trucking industry and her recent appointment as a commissioner on the National Transport Commission.



The 2015 NatRoad Professional Driver of the Year Award was taken out by Garry McVey who is now a small fleet operator with an unblemished 41 year driving record. He was cited by NatRoad for his commitment to maintenance, a safe driving philosophy and driver welfare. The winner of this award is automatically entered as a candidate for next year’s ATA Truck Driver of the Year Award.



The National Youth Award went to, 24 year old, Chloe Rimmington, who currently works as a multi-combination driver for NQX in Mackay. Chloe began working for NQX at the age of 17 as an administration assistant, before creating the chance for herself to achieve her HR license by the age of 19 and then graduating to MC status. Her first solo MC task involved taking a B-double from Brisbane to Perth and back.



The NatRoad Excellence in Operational Support Award went to Kerry Sheehan, who works for Divalls Earthmoving Bulk Haulage. After her first appointment, in 2008, at the earthmoving and bulk business was as a receptionist. Kerry quickly moved on to involvement in the introduction of a telematics system in the fleet. Later, she stepped up to temporarily handle operational duties after the company’s Transport Manager was involved in a serious accident. She remains a key part of the operation’s day to day fleet management, as well as being responsible accreditation issues.