Trucking Industry Awards Nominations

Trucking Industry Awards Nominations

This week, the National Trucking Industry Awards nominations were made by the Australian Trucking Association. The awards are designed to recognise businesses and individuals who have gone above and beyond to improve their workplace and contribute to the trucking industry.

“The finalists for these awards have demonstrated exceptional dedication to the Australian trucking industry through their hard work and commitment,” said Geoff Crouch, ATA Chair. “These awards are a highlight of not only the Trucking Australia conference, but the whole year and I look forward to the announcement of the winners next month,” he said.

The 2018 National Trucking Industry Awards finalists are:

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry:


Trucking Industry Awards Nominations

David Smith, D & S Smith Haulage, has worked in the transport industry for more than 40 years as a driver, business owner, and industry leader. He is President of the LRTASA, on the ATA board, and former President of the ALRTA.

Frances Ross, R & A Ross Transport, founded Ross Transport in 1975 with her husband Reg. She still oversees office staff while training her granddaughter, True, to one day take over the family business. She has taken part in the i98FM Illawarra Convoy since 2005, helping raise $11.5 million for the local community.

Ross Fraser OAM, Frasers Livestock Transport, has been involved in the transport industry for more than 50 years, he was a founding member of the ALRTA and LTAQ, former chair of the ATA. In 2009, Ross was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for his service to the livestock transport industry and the community of Warwick.

National Professional Driver of the Year Award:

Bernard Forssman, Directhaul, has driven for the company for 24 years and been a part of the industry for more than 44 years. He carts aviation fuel along the Stuart Highway and has driven more than 10 million kilometres incident-free.

Mark Waddington, Cannon Logistics, will celebrate 11 years with the company in 2018. He has recorded more than two million incident-free kilometres, and was named 2017 Queensland Trucking Association Professional Driver of the Year.

Barry Fitzgerald, Boral Australia, has been driving trucks for more than 45 years and has spent the last 25 with Boral Logistics, with an unblemished professional record. With Boral Logistics, he was as a member of the Safety Committee for 20 years and was a drivers’ representative on Boral’s Enterprise Bargaining Committee for 16 years.

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year:

Belinda Polglase is Project Manager at All Purpose Transport and is the 2017 Queensland Trucking Association Trucking Woman of the Year. She has worked in a range of roles, including the organisation of ‘Project APT’, an initiative to skill the organisation’s entire workforce in a Certificate III or higher nationally recognised qualification.

Breanee Turner, is a Heavy Vehicle Trainer and Assessor with Cove Training. She educates students on heavy vehicle safety and identifies the training needs of both individuals and organisations. She has worked in many fields, including as a truck driver, occupational health and safety adviser, and health and safety representative.

Coralie Chapman, is Transport Supervisor at Linfox Australia and has worked in road transport for more than 18 years. She has been on the Transport Women Australia board since 2016 and was made secretary last year.

Trucking Industry Awards Nominations

National Training Excellence Award:

The Australian Furniture Removers Association was founded in 1993 as the official body of removals experts that helps regulate the removals industry. More than 350 companies across the country are AFRA members and all are educated by qualified trainers to the AFRA professional minimal standards. They have developed a new initiative moving towards their own Learning Management System.

Brown & Hurley commenced in-house technical training in 2008, before officially opening its own purpose built technical training facility in 2012. The facility is equipped with a classroom with 12 computer stations, a Cummins certified technical trainer and a training shop that is fitted with the same tools used in the working environment.

Hopkins Transport employs 20 drivers transporting delicate livestock. The company introduced the driver training program ‘Enhanced Driving Skills’ in October 2016 and has had a 100 percent participation rate from all staff members, including company owners.

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award:

SRT Logistics, from Tasmania, has been operating for more than 25 years, providing dry grocery logistics and warehousing services interstate and across the Bass Strait. The family owned and run business has been a member of TruckSafe since 2009 and has developed experience in designing, implementing and managing complex high and low volume supply chains.

JJ Lawson Transport has developed a reputation for dedicated personal service in the customs clearance, freight and transport industry. A member of TruckSafe since 2002, JJ Lawson staff are highly trained in all aspects of the business.

Zarb Road Transport is a family owned business, established in Mackay in 1966. They cart raw and processed products from raw sugar cane, has a full-time workforce of 50 staff and runs a fleet of more than 40 prime movers. Zarb Road Transport is one of the longest running TruckSafe members and has been part of the safety accreditation scheme since 1997.